Now with Double the Trouble!

Let’s Talk Nausea

So, I was remembering my pregnancy with Kate. And really, it wasn’t a pleasant one. Because of this It isn’t talked about much, and it can have profound effects on not only the mother’s physical well-being, but also emotional as well. Many people don’t understand. And I finally quit talking about having “morning sickness” to people because they just didn’t get it. By my 4 week postpartum check up I had lost 40 pounds. During my pregnancy nothing helped the unrelenting nausea and vomiting. I would stand in front of the refrigerator and cry because I wanted to eat, but I couldn’t. It was especially a nightmare because we tried so hard to get pregnant. I wanted to enjoy my pregnancy. But I couldn’t. I was exhausted. I had nothing left in me to care about anyone or anything else. Which, as you might imagine, made being a nurse quite a challenge. But I survived, as did Kate. But she did come 4 weeks early. And I recently found out that my placenta had 2 infarcts in it as well as a small hemorrhage. I wonder if it had to do with my constant malnutrition and dehydration. I’ll never know. Just know if you are reading this and have HG, there is a light at the end of the tunnel. A baby, and just maybe by the time your baby is 1 1/2 years old, the memories will have faded for you too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

