Now with Double the Trouble!

Okay, I really didn’t want to talk about crazy work stuff. But I have to. Or I am going to get high blood pressure. Or high(er) blood pressure. The latest. Well, let’s see. If my nurse manager (NM) had her way, all of the nurses in the hospital would work OB. Because, you know, OB isn’t a specialty or anything. So the other day, it is BUSY! Shock. Anyway, a doc sends a patient over to be augmented because her water had broken. Which really wasn’t, and was essentially an induction for a PITA patient that he didn’t want to deal with any more. Instead of telling this dr. that we didn’t have the staff to safely start the pitocin at that minute, what does she do? Oh, this is FABULOUS! She grabs a nurse from the MEDICAL FLOOR (who are smart BTW, but aren’t trained in OB). She then proceeds to tell this nurse how to hook up pitocin and titrate it. BUT. Instead of starting a mainline IV of LR, she tells the nurse to hook the pitocin directly in to the IV. Not even kidding you. So very many things wrong with this, it’s not even funny. Least of all is, if she had the time to tell the other nurse what to do, why didn’t she just do it herself? Oh…..my blood pressure. I can feel it rising……..

Comments on: "Why I Am Going to Get High Blood Pressure" (4)

  1. I cannot even imagine being “floated” to OB or from OB if I was an OB nurse. What the heck? Obviously patient safety is NOT a priority.

  2. We used to get OB nurses pulled to the med/surg floor all the time because it was easier than sending them home if not enough patients to have all the scheduled OB nurses in OB unit. I’m sure OB nurses are good in their unit, but they all have the same mentality that nothing exists beyond labor and delivery. They were horrible floor nurses on any other unit besides their own.

  3. Yikes. I’ve never floated to L&D but had I done so I likely would have told someone that I wasn’t properly trained to start pit or titrate it. I did float to post partum some and even that was a bit iffy and I figured I was better off not being there unless I got more training.

  4. Wow…unbelieveable. I agree with Rachel that there was definately no patient safety thoughts occurring in her mind at all. Frightening. I feel sorry for the Medical nurse as well. What was she going to do if the patient actually went into labor? What if the patient had hypersystole, decelled and crashed? Yikes. Court case waiting to happen and you’d lose!

    And regarding some the other comments, the reason why labor nurses aren’t able to float other places is because we ARE so specialized! When a pregnant woman comes into the ER what do they do? “Oh, you’re pregnant?” and up to L&D they come…whether or not they had a pregnancy-related complaint. All other areas of health care are terrified of a pregnant lady…they are completely different animals than all other patients. So you’re setting a medical nurse up for failure if you float them to L&D…just like you’d be setting up an L&D nurse up for failure if you float them to a medical floor. Yes, “we’re all nurses” is the comment I hear often, but if your Momma was in the bed, would you want an L&D nurse taking care of her? If your wife was in the bed having a baby would you want a medical nurse caring for her? It’s a matter of common sense. You can’t care for a certain patient population if you haven’t had proper training. Yes, we all went to nursing school…but we didn’t really learn to be nurses until we started working as one. So let’s take care of each other and be careful of what we ask each other to do.

Leave a Reply

