Now with Double the Trouble!

Level 2 and Perinatologist

So, I was born with a birth defect.  I have a shunt to reroute cerebrospinal fluid from my brain to my abdomen.  It’s no big deal for me, and don’t think about it often.  However, now that I am going to have a baby, there are some questions as to how this baby should be delivered.  Should we just do a scheduled c-section to avoid me having to push a baby out and thereby increasing my intracranial pressure, or does that not really matter?  My doc seems to think that having a normal vaginal birth should be fine, as long as we limit the pushing phase.  But, she’s not sure.  Which is how I came to have an appt. for a level 2 ultrasound and visit with a perinatologist on Feb. 2nd.  It’s funny, because my ob/gyn told me she was just going to “talk” with the peri and get her recommendation.  And when I woke up this afternoon, there’s a message from the peri’s office wanting to schedule my appt.  Alrighty then.  I’m not entirely sure why I’m having a level 2 ultrasound.  Maybe to make sure the baby doesn’t have the same birth defect as me (although, it’s not necessarily genetic).  But I’ll take it.  More time to see the Junebug!

Comments on: "Level 2 and Perinatologist" (2)

  1. Laura, I love you!

    Love Mike

  2. It’ll be interesting to hear what they say. Would you care if you had a vbirth vs. a csection? Or does it not really matter to you? As an L&D nurse I’d imagine you’ve seen it all.

Leave a Reply

